Camp Courage: A Weekend Review

As per Pag-asa, it’s officially the rainy season! But before their official declaration, last weekend, I went to camp! And yes, I know it’s not summer anymore, but that did not stop me, three ladies, and the Camp Courage Team to go out of the city and go to Tara Woods, in Tanauan, Batangas.

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset

In this year’s Camp Courage, we talked about going back to basics. You know how sometimes we get too lost in the grind? When things are just so fast-paced that we forget the things that are most essential to us? Yep, it happens. And sometimes, all we need to do is to stop, get out of the system, reflect, and go back stronger and more focused than ever.

Before the Camp: The Struggle is real

Before going to this camp, I was this insecure person. I had the desire to obey Him, but I wasn’t doing anything at all. I already knew what He wanted me to do, but I did not have the courage to obey Him. And if I’ll be completely honest about joining this camp, well, at first, I was too scared to join this camp because I did not know anyone, not even a single person. I wanted to stay in my comfort zone, but I just felt like the Lord really wanted me to join, so I did.

There’s just something so beautiful when you obey God. I went there, totally awkward, insecure, and friendless, and I came home secured in who I am in the Lord, courageous and empowered in doing what He wanted me to do, and rich with friends I can now call family. Oh, not to mention my own Ate Shekinah. (Yep, we have the same name).

We talked about a lot of things in the camp, but here are some of the things that I think are essential in this season of my life.

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

Vision-Mission Statement

Why am I here on earth? What is my purpose? I took up Psychology so this question was always asked in our classes. However, my direction in college is not as clear as it is now, so thinking about this in this season really helped me find direction. I find that putting our own vision-mission statement into writing help remind ourselves of our purpose. It’s always a good idea to take some time to think about this, because once you know what your purpose is, you’ll easily know your priorities. You will be able to say yes to the things that lead you closer to your goal, and no to the things that are not of importance.

I tried writing this before on my own, but in this camp, not only was I able to refine my vision, but I was also given the chance to start living my mission with small doable action steps.

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Mentorship

One interesting thing that I learned about myself in this camp, is that I work best with mentors. They help me know some blind spots and encourage me to use my God-given strengths to fulfil the call that God has for me. They give me pieces of advice that are full of wisdom. Pieces of advice that are not just based on cheesy quotes they read on the internet. These are things that they have practiced throughout the years.

They are not perfect and they admit that, but they practice what they preach. I guess that tells you they’re human too, because they themselves are works in progress. Their imperfections give them an avenue to be vulnerable, which in turn, makes you trust them, making them the right fit for accountability partners.

Processed with VSCO with 6 preset

Family

I’m so grateful because this camp brought in people who ended up being friends they can call family. It’s interesting what a weekend of good conversations can do. Aside from playing Wolves, these people showed me how to listen. I think this is what most friendships nowadays lack. It is probable that we become too familiar of each other, which may make us assume things about our friends. But our assumptions are not always right. That is probably one of the greatest things that I took home from this camp. That even if you think you know other people, it still pays to listen to what they have to say. At the end of the day, not only will that person feel valued, but you’ll also feel encouraged with how God moved and is moving in their lives.

Processed with VSCO with e3 preset

Courage, Dear Heart

Every great camp always has an ending. After spending some time pausing from the hustles and bustles of life, we go back to the grind with a different kind of strength. We go back to the city with a fresh perspective and with courage in our hearts. Courage that does not come from us, but from God.

“For God gave us a spirit not of fear, but of power and love and self-control” 2 Timothy 1:17

Leave a comment