Blog Series, Life Lessons

The Suicide Series [An Introduction]

Hey ya’ll. I’m back. I’ve experienced the ever dreadful writer’s block recently and IT. JUST. SUCKS. Anyway, I thank God cause I’m back on track! Today, I’ll be launching my blog series entitled, “The Suicide Series”!!! Some of you may now look at the title and say, “Is she promoting suicide?”. Just a little disclaimer here. Hehe. I am not promoting suicide. I’ve had suicidal thoughts in the past and that stage is not pretty. It’s dark, it’s ugly and it’s the worst stage that one can be in.  In this blog series, I won’t be talking about my suicidal thoughts, experience, and all that jazz. Instead, I will write about killing “some” things about ourselves.

If you still don’t get what I mean, let me cite the verse in the Bible that inspired me to write this blog series. It says in Romans 6:11, “In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin, and alive to God in Christ Jesus”. Yep. That’s what I meant by “Suicide”. When we talk about suicide, we define it as a person killing himself. In this series, we will crush wrong mindsets. We will “kill” anything that has something to do with ourselves until there’s nothing left of us and ’til the only thing that’s left is God. The goal of this series is for us to realize that we should cling on to God alone for Him to give us the ability to be dead to our sin, and alive in Christ. This starts by having a realationship with Him. Yep, I wrote that right. Realationship. We need to have this REAL RELATIONSHIP with Christ and that starts when we accept Jesus Christ as our LORD and SAVIOR.

Accepting Jesus as LORD and SAVIOR

When we accept Jesus as Lord this means that we put Him over EVERY area of our lives. Remember, if He is not Lord of all, then He is not Lord at all. Lordship is important in this relationship with Him. Because Jesus is now our Lord, this means that we should turn back from whatever the Bible calls sin. This means that because of Jesus, this life that we live is a life of righteousness in Him and not a life that gratifies our flesh.

I’m so excited for this blog series because sometimes, when we study the Bible and discover some things that we need to let go of, we tell ourselves that it’s hard to change our ways, it’s hard to obey God and all that. The thing is, that’s true. It’s hard to change our ways and it’s hard to obey God if we still rely on ourselves. But, if we surrender and let God work in us, then we can do it! That is great news. We must remember that sin has NO POWER over us and that it is the Holy Spirit that will guide us and give us the ability to do the good works that He has prepared for us.

Now that I’ve made a brief introduction of my blog series, may you join me in unravelling some parts of ourselves that we need to get rid of?

Don’t forget to connect with me on my social media accounts for more updates!

IG: @shekinahbongco

Twitter: @shekinahbongco

Snapchat: shekinahbongco

Facebook: Shekinah Bongco

Oh, and don’t forget to use the official hashtag of this blog series #TheSuicideSeries! Thank you and God bless! 🙂

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Suicide Series [An Introduction]

  1. Pingback: The Suicide Series [The Victim Mentality] | Shekinah Bongco

  2. Pingback: The Suicide Series [The ME Mentality] | Shekinah Bongco

Leave a Reply

